I prayed that I would let you go

 

I wondered what life would be like

If you were to disappear

Wondered if I would feel the ache

What I would become without you near

 

And when you really did leave

Thinking of you was agony

I prayed that I would let you go

I loved you, and I know you know

 

Sometimes I wish I’d never known you

But I know everything you did for me

Yourself aside, and you helped me to see

All I thought, before you, wasn’t true

 

You came, and showed me how to live

And I followed you like a puppy

And then you left, and with you my heart

Still following you like a puppy

 

I prayed that I would let you go

Because it hurt to think of you

You gave me my greatest happiness

But after it came my sorrow

 

I loved you, I still love you

I’ll always love you, and never forget you

You taught me not to take for granted

Phases, like yours, that will pass

 

I prayed that I would let you go

I missed you, I missed you, I loved you

And again and again, more and more

Even after you’d gone, and yet –

 

I prayed that I would let you go

Because it hurt to think of you

I never thought my prayer would come true

And now it hurts that I’m letting you go.

 

 

Emilino

Pictures courtesy nuruladleen.blogspot.com and themescompany.com

2 thoughts on “I prayed that I would let you go

  1. I love you Emilino!!!!!!:) I really miss Isaac, and crap!, I think I might start crying, but reading your blogs, I know I miss him way less than you miss R. And Em, never let go completely!
    H.S.Jackson

Leave a Reply

